How to beat the Sunday blues

Image

 

All week I have had the uncontrollable urge to make and eat flapjacks. I blame Kate entirely for this for blogging about her flapjack last week. 

My problem is that I eat reasonably healthy but I have a terrible addiction to sugar. I’m trying to cut it down, but sometimes, you just need that hit. 

So I decided to alter the traditional flapjack recipe and *try* to make it a tad more healthier by swapping porridge oats for muesli and golden syrup for honey and added dried apricots, mixed fruit and flaked almonds.

So much for cutting down on the sugar…ahem. 

To make these delicious squares of goodness you’ll need:

200g butter

200g demerera sugar

4 tbs of honey

200g muesli

chopped apricots – I had about a handful and a half

100g flaked almonds

100g dried mixed fruit

Melt the butter, sugar and honey in a saucepan. Add the muesli, apricots, nuts and fruit and combine.

Place in an oven at 180 degrees for 15 minutes. Once cooked, leave to stand for 10 minutes and cut into squares and serve.

A little bit addictive, sadly there is not much left!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kate Magrath says:

    fine, blame me, but you gotta thank me also 😉 I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award http://www.day-to-daydreamer.co.uk/2014/02/ive-been-nominated-for-liebster-award.html love ya! xxx

Leave a Reply

