Bumbling about Bath

Bath will be forever one of my favourite cities, to visit, to pass through and maybe – possibly to live. I’m lucky in the sense that Bath is around 25 minutes away on the train and pretty cheap to travel to, which is great because I like to go there all the time.

This weekend, I took my Mum there for a belated Mothers Day treat that was jam packed full of shopping, mooching and of course cocktails and lunch.

I’ve blogged about this before, but the Bath farmers market is my number 1 destination on a weekend. As soon as the train pulls in, I am off, armed with my little shopper bag, determination to not buy everything, usually my Mother and an empty stomach. I leave with a huge shopper bag, everything plus more, no determination, usually my Mother and a full stomach. The homemade breads, cheese and the falafel are my go-tos – such bad food (other than the yummy falafel) but so GOOD. Yesterday brought the usual, plus some fresh veg, cake and my friends over at Attic Tea were there too. Attic Tea are great as they sell teas that are good for the body, mind and soul – they are regulars at my work and since they started visiting us, the majority of the office have switched to their blends. Even this hardcore tea worshipper is turning toward them and I happily purchased some of their new Teatox tea to slowly get my body used to not relying so much on caffeine. I’ll keep you posted.

Bath has some excellent shopping, as well as your usual high street shops, they have some gorgeous boutiques and quirky little tid-bit shops. It is home to some of my favourite shops. H&M of course took a battering… it would have been rude not too and I would definitely recommend it for shopping. It is one of those cities where the shopping is surrounded by beautiful scenery, so you can get distracted by the breathtaking Abbey, the river, Georgian buildings and historical places of interest and of course the rolling countryside around it. I took Mum to Pulteny Bridge to visit the flower stall and spent some time taking in the views. I managed to pick up a Popcorn flavoured lip scrub whilst pootling from Lush – as recommended by Kate – safe to say, it is now a favourite product of mine!

Of course, no day is without food and despite our bags bulging and backs aching from the haul from the market, we stopped off at La Tasca, a tapas restaurent, which is a firm favourite in this family. Opting for the battered white fish, paella, flatbread and oils and patatas bravas – accompanied by a sangria and cava based cocktail. It set us up for an afternoon of pottering around before wearily getting the train home to prepare ourselves a mighty bruscetta. Made from what we picked up at the market- fresh potato and rosemary bread, wild garlic pesto, fresh tomatoes and we ate it with a  pizza from the deli in M&S and washed that down with 2 bottles of Prosecco…. all in all, a great Saturday! Oh, did I mention I saw a chow-chow? OH MY GOD. I WANT ONE.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

What did you all get up to? Also, how cute is the A Beautiful Mess app? Thanks to Jess, I am addicted – i’ve totally gone overboard, I don’t care…

 

Leave a Reply

