My German Adventure – Munich day 2

Day 2 of Munich looked like this:

Image

 

early. 

Laura took charge today, we had a whole day ahead of us and Jess had ran out of things to show us, so Laura planned a day of hardcore walking and sightseeing on the go. It is my belief that I lost around 4 stone on this day just through walking. The day was partly sunny and it was February and I was wearing just a cardigan*

*for the morning and over a dress, boots and thick tights. Lets not get too excited for global warming just yet.

We started the day with breakfast on the go (disclaimer, we only ate sat down in the evenings) a horrible milchkaffee (not as nice as Nuremberg, nor free syrup – what the hell is this place?) and a metro journey to the Olympic Stadium. Now, before I go into detail about the recreation of the Hunger Games we staged by the lake, I absolutely need to discuss the Metro. It’s clean, super clean. REALLY clean. So clean I could smell disinfectant. Very spaced out, I wasn’t befriending any Germans by launching myself on their laps through lack of space. I honestly felt that I could lick the hand rail and not contract a disease – but I didn’t wish to test that theory out, I was satisfied with my pretzel and nastyass coffee – it felt that clean.

I digress.

The Olympic Stadium: home of the 1972 Munich Olympics.

Image Image

 

Image Image

 

Image Image

 

The scene of the Hunger Games 2.5. 

 Image Image

 

Lauras plan for the day after recreating the Hunger Games and hiking up a mountain to see over the Olympic Park was to walk to the English Garden and have lunch at the Chinese Tower. 

Image Image

 

Image  Image

 

Image Image

 

Okay, so in this instance, we sat down and ate lunch. A typical lunch of sausage, chips and beer. Just as well I lost that 4 stone…

Next on our whistlestop marathon trek was The Angel of Peace and Maximillianstrasse via the river.

Image Image

 

Image Image

 

Image Image

 

At this point, we had misplaced Laura, who had gone to look at the swimming baths because the architecture. The river walk back towards the centre was pretty awesome as it showcased some great street art and of course, the locks on the bridges.

Image Image

 

Our next stop was the German and Jewish Museums and an art installation . The German museum was a celebration of technology, transport, print and architecture of the ages from all over the world. We didn’t go into the Jewish museum, but we saw the memorial and the information on the outside. 

Image  Image

 

Image Image

 

Image Image

 

After a long and tiring day of walking and seeing the sights of Munich, we headed back and chilled before dinner. Mel was too tired to head back out, but me, Jess and Laura headed to the city centre and to a Meredo, which reminded me of the Harvester. After 3 days of bread and sausage and meat, I was craving salad and I had the nicest chicken ceaser salad. Just what I needed! It was our last night in Munich, so we took in the sights and atmosphere around us.

Image

 

tbc….

 

 

Leave a Reply

