Eek, I made soup!

It’s a known fact I do not eat soup. I don’t like soup, why would I eat a liquid version of food? it’s a silly concept.

But, this last month – whether it’s the cold, a bizarre planet alignment, a lack of love for salad or an alternative healthy lunch, I’M EATING SOUP.

So yeah, I made soup. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m still a little unsure, I’m not going to run out to the nearest supermarket and bulk buy all the soup, because, well I wouldn’t eat it! I’m only just really liking tomato, give it a year I may just come back here and be like “hey look at my recipe for chicken soup!” haaaaa….

So Roasted Tomato Soup it is!

6 cups (3 pints) cherry tomatoes – I combined both cherry and medium tomatoes.

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup chopped onion

1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes

4 cups chicken broth

3 thyme twigs/ 1/2 teaspoon thyme if not fresh

4 basil leaves/ 1/2 teaspoon if not fresh

You can add cream if desired to make it thicker and creamier.

Heat the oven to 190°. On a baking sheet, combine the cherry tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, and the salt and pepper. I tried to line them up, the issue with tomatoes being is that they roll around and generally misbehave, so I gave up with my OCD and embraced. Massage the ingredients together to coat evenly, be at one with your tomatoes and spread them in a single layer. Give them a final shimmy and pop them in the oven.

IMG_3838

The smell is divine.

Roast the tomatoes until they are shriveled with brown spots, about 35 to 45 minutes.

IMG_3833

‘ello ladies.

In a large pot, heat the butter and the remaining tablespoon of oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion and sauté until softened, about 6 minutes. Add the canned tomatoes with their juice, the broth, the thyme, and the roasted tomatoes, including any liquid on the baking sheet. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, partially covered, for 40 minutes. I found my pan too small, so I whacked it all in the slow cooker on high for around an hour – plently of time to shower, eat dinner and watch Strictly!

I neglected to take a photo at this point, so imagine it – it looks like tomato-ey broth? mmmm….

Using a food processor or blender, puree the soup until it’s smooth. Return it to the pot and stir in the cream, if using. Without letting the soup boil, warm it over medium heat, stirring often, until steaming. Add salt and pepper, if necessary.

TA DA

IMG_3841 IMG_3843

Lunch for the next few days, I felt that it needed a punchier tomato flavour, so I added some puree, but it’s all down to how you like your soup! As I said, total amateur, but it does taste rather scrummy!

Leave a Reply

