Lemon and Poppyseed Drizzle Cake

i’d been craving lemon drizzle cake all week, with going back to work and eating relatively good, and by that I mean not cheese for every meal. I saw a picture of lemon drizzle cake and it stuck in my head.

I got a stand mixer for Christmas and a collection of cookbooks, I had some spare time to bake so, I figured at least one of my new collection must have a recipe I can adapt – well bow down to John Waite, because he does a mean Lemon and Poppyseed muffin recipe. I adapted it to a loaf and the results were pretty perfect in what I was looking for if you’re asking me!

Makes 12 muffins or 1 loaf.

  • 170g of salted butter (softened)
  • 70g icing sugar
  • 100g golden caster sugar
  • zest of 3 lemons
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
  • 6 tbsp poppyseeds
  • 170g plain flour
  • 2 tsp of baking powder

For the topping

  • 50g golden caster sugar
  • 50ml water
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • poppy seeds to sprinkle

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees,

Place butter into bowl and beat until smooth and then add the icing sugar, caster sugar and zest and beat until the sugar has dissolved into the batter and is smooth and light.

Beat in eggs, vanilla and poppyseeds until well mixed. Sift in the flour and baking powder and fold until just incorporated.

Scoop the mixture into a disposable piping bag/loaf tin.

Bake for 20/25 minutes or until a knife comes out clean in the middle. Allow to cool.

To make the topping, simply heat the sugar and water into a small saucepan, allow to boil and the sugar dissolve. Remove from heat and stir in the lemon juice. Paint the warm syrup over the cake with a pastry brush and add the poppy seeds.

Totally. worth. it.

IMG_0110

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum, I love poppyseed and lemon anything. This looks great!

  2. Hi lovely!

    To show you how much I love your blog, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    You can find all the rules here : http://katiecharlotteblogs.co.uk/2015/01/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Keep up the good work on your blog!
    Kate xo

Leave a Reply

