Peanut Butter and Banana Overnight Oats – the result.

It started with some ripe bananas I found in my desk drawer. I knew they were there, I bought them with good faith that I could snack on them during my working week, except my working week took me away from the office without said bananas… so I rescued them after opening my drawer last Monday and nearly passing out from the smell of rotting fruit (whoops) rather than bin them, I consulted my buddy Pinterest for ideas…

I’ve looked at overnight oats before and I’ll be honest, I’ve not been convinced… cold porridge doesn’t really *do* it for me.. but I’ll give anything a go and I really needed to use those bananas. After feeling really uninspired with breakfasts lately, overnight oats seemed that a good way forward. I could always heat it up, right?

I found a recipe that incorporated cinnamon and peanut butter and I am currently addicted to peanut butter – my next goal is to make my own almond butter – so for me, anything with cinnamon, peanut butter and banana was a sure fire hit!

To make this I needed

  • 3 x ripe bananas (or equivalent to a cup)
  • 1 x cup of rolled oats
  • 1 cup of almond milk – (another addiction)
  • 1/4 of a cup of crunchy peanut butter (I only had smooth in the cupboard, but I also had cashew nut butter so I combined them both)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • 1 tablespoon of flaxseed

I was so shocked at how quickly I whipped this up, I mean, if only i was this organised for breakfast all the time? Imagine all those extra minutes in bed each morning?

Anyways, to make this super energy boosting and health beneficial breakfast (it’s practically bursting with benefits: healthy fats, mood boosters, the oats practically bring down your risks of most diseases due to the antioxidants and fibre in them etc etc) you need too…. *drum roll please*

Mash the bananas with a fork (in a bowl of course, you weren’t brought up in a barn) and add all the remaining ingredients. That simple. Mash and add, mash and add. In no particular order either – you fancy adding oats before peanut butter? or add the oats last as a nice ending? fine! whatever makes you happy.

Now remember all those times you think “I need to work on my arms, I need an arm day at the gym” (thought no-one ever)?? well, roll up those sleeves, grab a spoon and get combining, that peanut butter will not evenly distribute itself! Once you are satisfied the peanut butter is evenly combined/you can’t feel your arms anymore add your mixture to an airtight container and chill overnight.

IMG_7626

Before we start with the next day, I totally get that eating cold porridge isn’t a normal, sane thing to do – I’m with you. Even now, I’m not convinced.. it’s basically a decadent, cold, mushy dessert. But it’s quite nice flavour wise, so stick it out and if you find that this isn’t for you, try a new flavour.

IMG_7627

The great thing is that you can eat it on the run, you can snack on it all morning, split it over a few days, hell you can even heat it up! I won’t stop you… I was talking to some friends about it – as I wasn’t sure if I do, indeed, like cold porridge (social media wise, if you follow me – I can confirm I do not) so I was given the advice of adding additional vitamins. I had a great basis for a smoothie (with the oats, flaxseed and the other ingredients) so I added some frozen summer berries, kiwi, some apple juice and some apples, a little extra almond milk and blitzed it.

IMG_7639

Success. Two options for a breakfast in one! Let me know how you get on!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cultivate Wellness says:

    I love overnight oats, but sometimes I will put them in the microwave for 30 seconds to warm them up, especially during the cold months! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

