Plum and Vanilla Jam

So last year, I discovered the delights of Peach and Vanilla Jam – added some gold sparkle and bam! away I went. The jam was INCREDIBLE, if I do say so myself… and I do! They went down a storm in my Christmas hampers and so this year, I have not only made the peach jam, I’ve made apple and blackberry jam AND red onion chutney! phew!

Unfortunately, the peaches I used for the jam weren’t great… so I only managed two jars of the jam, which was a shame. I’ve realised that this time of year isn’t so great for peaches. So I thought plum would be a nicer, autumnal option…

It was. Resoundingly so…

So, how to make this sweet but oh so good jam! mimchete on Allrecipes.com is to thank for this gorgeous recipe.

  • 1.5k of pitted plums
  • 300ml of water
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1kg caster sugar
  • 1 vanilla pod, split and seeded.

Place the plums in a large pot with the water, sugar and lemon juice over a high heat. Clip a sugar thermometer to the pot. This is vital jam making equipment, if you’re making jams or sweets, I highly recommend..

Add the vanilla pod and seeds, the temperature will fluctuate.

When the temperature reaches 105 degrees, be patient – it will get there! remove from the heat and pour into steralised jars and seal.

I also blitzed the plums a little to thicken the jam up as they were quite chunky. Perseverance is key, as the jam will take a while to set!

Last year, I loved my added glittery sparkle and the gold went well with the peach. This year, as the jam is darker, I felt a silvery shimmer (the picture doesn’t do it much justice, but it’s super sparkly, I promise!) would be a nice touch. Finished with some cute dotty fabric covers and done!

IMG_8933.jpg

Leave a Reply

