Plum and Nectarine Jam

I won’t lie, I went to google a recipe for plum and nectarine jam. I had a load of plums and nectarines that I’d bought from a market stall with jam in mind. Autumn is a fantastic time of year for produce. Plums are in a abundance and they are just as good sweet as they are sour and fantastic for a jam.

So yeah, I went to google a recipe and got so caught up in chopping fruit and realising to my horror that I only had two nectarines to use as they’d spoiled 😦 that in the end, I just made up the recipe!

So…. made up plum and nectarine jam looks a little like this:

img_4247

I added a kilo of plums, stones removed and chopped in quarters. Two nectarines (I will never get over this) to compliment the sharpness of the plums. Then a kilo of jam sugar. I also added the juice and zest of one lemon and a cinnamon stick to give it that festive flair. Let it come to the boil and then once cooled, remove the cinnamon stick and give it a blast with a hand blender to cut down the plum slices (they will break down in the boil but any larger chunks need to be broken down further) spoon jam into sterilised jars and boom, jam!

Usually I add a little sparkle to my jam with edible glitter, but I omitted it this time. It smells so gorgeous, I can’t wait for it to be spread on toast!

img_4248

img_4255

Leave a Reply

